Home > Uncategorized > Training a guy character vs. training a girl character… a social experiment?

Training a guy character vs. training a girl character… a social experiment?

Let me start out by saying, I’m sorry.  I’m sorry I’ve been so absent from the site.  Yes, yes, I know I’ve said this before, but I tooootally mean it this time.  fo realsies.

 

Anyway, I have a new entry for you!

 

My Social Experiment!  (aka I made a girl character for fun and then while I was training I noticed things so now I’m acting like I did it on purpose all along!)

 

I trained my Marksman up to level 186, and while I didn’t get bored exactly, I was ready for a change.  And since I made the MM to get gear ready for Mercedes, I wasn’t about to fire sale it all and fund a new character, so I did what any sensible person would do, and I made a Bowmaster.

I started training as a girl character, and right off the bat I noticed a few things different from when I trained my Shadower and my MM.  There were a heck of a lot less ksers.  And not just less people in general, people changed channels, sometimes without me even asking!  I thought maybe this was a just a noob thing, where they didn’t want to deal with fighting for a pigs channel.  But it didn’t change.  I moved up to CDs, and the same thing happened.  When I went to scarecrows, the same thing happened.  Even when I got to Jesters, I never got KSed.

I should mention that I never said that I was a girl, or said my name.  When someone would start KSing me, all I would say was “can you change channels please? (:”  Granted, thats effeminate for sure, but no where did I saw that I was a girl, or give a false name. I just let people think what they want.

This different treatment was not only for training.  As I got to be higher level, I would be chosen for training parties over other people, as well as I would get into PQs over other people too.  By now I had royal hair and face, and some dang cute nx.  I’m sure that helped a bit.  This is the time that I took control of my guild on this character as well, which brought a few more things into play.

I got invited to alot of alliances once people found out I was guild leader.  As well as it was alot easier recruiting random people.  When I was dealing with ksers that wouldn’t be wooed by my womanly charms, it was a heck of a lot easier to get the ksers guild leader to cooperate and put an end to my problems.

I also did a bit of merching on this character, something I don’t normally do, but thought I would try this time.  I tried it two different ways.  If i saw something I wanted to buy, or if I was selling something to someone who wasn’t in my map, half the time I would whisper the other party, and half the time I would chat request them.  For the ones that whispered me, they were alot less likely to lower their selling price or accept my higher selling price.  But when I chat requested, so that they saw my character, I always bought for lower and sold for higher.  This isn’t conclusive, because maybe I just chatted the people more willing to haggle, and whispered the hardliners, but it is interesting.

The moral of the story, I suppose, is that if you make a girl character and dont act like a jackass, more doors will be open to you then if you were on a guy character.  Its definitely fun, and when your friends see your character for the first time, its always a good laugh when they go, “YOU’RE A GIRL?”  Just make sure you dont lose yourself in your fantasy and forget who you really are.  I’ve seen it happen before and its not pretty.  Always remember who you are on the inside.  I did it by telling my buddy list, guild, and alliance my real name and who I really was.  Just left the trolling to random people!

 

Thanks for reading, and I promise to definitely post more regularly then I have been, stay tuned for more!

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. thatwasmykil
    14/12/2011 at 07:46

    I would like to know more about these doors and specific instances.

  2. 23/01/2012 at 01:42

    “I I’ve seen it happen before and its not pretty.” Is that me you’re referring to? ‘Cause if so, you put me in that situation f3

  3. 23/01/2012 at 01:43

    er, wtf happened with my name?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment